Suave's Republique Cricket


The Mighty “The England”, to return to their rightful place.
February 11, 2008, 9:25 am
Filed under: Cricket | Tags: , , , , , ,

I’ve recently accepted a bet with the super feline blogger,  Miss-field.

The bet is that The England, will return to no 2 in the ICC Test World Rankings, by the end of 2008.

I think this should be possible, as we’ve to play New Zealand & South Africa home and away, and another away series to India.

There is the distinct possibility that I’m going to get egg on my face, but I’ve got far too big an ego, to admit that I’m wrong.

We’ve both decided to ask you, the cricket reading/blogging public, to suggest a suitable forfeit for the loser of this bet.

Unfortunately, I’ve not been able to find a way to create a poll, a la Cricket with balls.

So we’ll have to make do with comments for now.

What say you, gentlefolk?


32 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Super feline blogger? Go me. Cheers!

Comment by Miss Field

I’m on my way to the bookshop today, to but Clive Lloyd’s biography.
It’s called Supercat, so super feline, just seemed to fit!

Comment by republiquecricket

Sorry what was that about commas?

Well I’m not complaining.
Enjoy your light read.

Comment by Miss Field

Loser has to go to their next cricket match wearing a t-shirt saying “I heart Graeme Smith”.

Comment by Miriam

Oh noes… Not that please!

Comment by republiquecricket

bahahaaha

I’d pay to see Herr Suave in such a shirt.

Comment by Miss Field

You asked, the cricket-reading public answered.

Comment by Miriam

Fair point Mims.

I am prepared to do whatever is necessary.

Comment by republiquecricket

If you want to win that bet, you better get those gun boats moving. Otherwise, I shall expect to see a certain suave somebody in a certain humiliating t-shirt.

Comment by The Atheist

It’s alright, I’m going to infiltrate the ICC’s statistics team, impress them with my suaveness, and buy them off…

It’s a dastardly plan, that no-one will ever find about!

Comment by republiquecricket

I’d be surprised – but if Vaughan and KP are in prime form and Hoggard remains fit, then it’s not impossible.

I’ll add your link to my site!

Comment by Tim

It is very hard to believe that England will move up to the second place in the test ranking by 2008, taking their recent performance into account. However, as far as cricket is concerned it is possible to see England even leading the test ranking as you know cricket is full of uncertainty. However, I think, if England can perform consistently and the key players remain in good form then it is possible for them to climb up the table to finish the year second in the ICC world test ranking.

Thank you for your article.

Comment by Biplob Kishore Deb

Hi Tim,

I agree.. We could really do with Harmison and Flintoff firing on all cylinders too..

Then, we’ve got a chance..

It could be days in an I love Graeme Smith T-Shirt.

I’ll do the same, Tim.. Nice site you have there..

Comment by republiquecricket

Hi Biplob, thanks for your response..

It’s going to be an interesting time, and one that could turn out badly for yours truly!

We shall see!

Comment by republiquecricket

I’d rather like to see The Suave wearing a t-shirt with:

“I’m Matt Hayden’s bitch”

Comment by Mentalist

Well maybe it could say I heart Graeme Smith on the front and Matty Hayden’s bitch on the back. Although over on my blog he’s declaring his penchant for pink, so I’m not sure this t-shirt thing would be enough.

Comment by Miss Field

How about:

“Horny for Vaughny”

That’s what I call a LOLcricket!

And a win win scenario for Miss Field.

Comment by Mentalist

Well that works for me, but it’s something I might do anyway. Plus I think a Hayden/Smith reference would be far more humiliating for Suave. Still, it’s not extreme enough.

Comment by Miss Field

As I say, I’m open to all suggestions, barring a tattoo!

keep em coming boys and girls.

Comment by republiquecricket

Optimism thy name is Sauve. England and no.2 in rankings?? Kidding weren’t u? Are u trying to impress Miss.Field? Good Luck 😉

Comment by IPL

Optimism thy name is Sauve. England and no.2 in rankings?? Kidding weren’t u? Are u trying to impress Miss.Field? Good Luck 😉

Comment by IPL

Thanks IPL, sorry for the delay, I needed to moderate you.. But as you seem like a lovely human being, you have been accepted 😉

I try to impress everyone I meet!

Comment by republiquecricket

Yes well how could I not be impressed by someone so impetuous.

I daresay your impetuous-ness outdoes your suave-ness!

Comment by Miss Field

[…] Filed under: Cricket | Tags: australia, bet, Cricket, England, miss-field A reminder, so we can get the bet back to the forefront, ideas are still being […]

Pingback by The England to return to #2 « Suave’s Republique Cricket

Funny things keep happening in cricket.

England can be a No:2 team in the world only when the above statement is true.

Purely on the basis of rationale and common sense, i don’t see that happening.

But i am not foolish enough to say India is No:2. Like it or not, Saffers win the No:2 spot hands down.

Comment by 12th Man

We shall see, my friend.

THis summer will certainly give us a better indication, of where we are.

Comment by Suave

The first half of this summer promises to be a no-contest. The SA series to follow will probably give us a better measure of what to expect.

Comment by 12th Man

Excuse my ignorance, o Suave one, but what’s a Pingback?

Have you got a forfeit suggestions, 12th Man?

And would ya stop distracting me I’m trying to write a bloody blog post. Argh!

Comment by Miss Field

I still stand by what i said.
Sorry Missy. Carry on.

Comment by 12th Man

A pingback is caused by someone linking to the post. It’s either a link, that created or someone linked to the post.

Comment by Suave

Aww. You’re so popular.

Comment by Miss Field

Not nearly as popular as I should be!

Comment by Suave




Leave a Reply

